Chinese New Year #librarydisplay

It’s the Spring Festival, or Chinese New Year.  Our school has 29 Native Chinese students who are studying here, hoping to get into a “good” American college or university.  For these students, being here on their most important holiday is difficult.  So we went all out this year decorating as much as we could:

fullsizerender-52

It is the year of the Rooster.  I wanted to make a simplified rooster.  I painted it with gold paint of my own design.  I found the characters that say “Happy New Year” online and checked with the student to make sure they were correct.  I cut them out of gold card stock on my Cricut machine as well as the same words in English.

The books I chose have two audiences, I think.  Our American students with some basic books about China, and our Chinese students with some more specific books.

The students from China have decorated the school, including the entrance to the library.  They hung the lanterns on the light fixture.  I added New Year’s wishes on a slide show on our big screen.  We also have a display of Chinese books and cultural items in our display cases in the entrance.fullsizerender-53fullsizerender-54fullsizerender-55

Leave a Reply

