Giant wings #librarydisplay

We have a lot of books that include some variation of the word “fly” in the title as well as a bunch that have the word “wings”.  This display was a bit ambitious, but the wings you make could be smaller.  I invited students to sit on the high stool that I built these wings around, to get their photo taken.  IMG_6044

 

Here is a teacher posing with wings:IMG_6050

 

Here is a bit more on how I created these wings.

The feathers are homework papers that some of my students donated to me, so they are annotated and corrected.  It was cool to look at.

The structure are some cardboard channels that some supplies for our robotics team came in.  I cut the channel at a few points so that they would bend where I wanted them to.  IMG_6031

Then I attached each channel to two 2x4s that I cut to the width of the stool.  I did not have to screw anything into the stool itself.

Then I added packing paper that came in a Follet book order.  I just taped it to the top of the channels, and then stapled the paper together wrong side together,  as if I were sewing a seam.IMG_6034

They looked kind of good without the feathers, but I spend a long time adding the feathers to the front, using rolled tape and some glue dots.  I cut the feathers using a rotary cutter, freehand.  I could have spent a long time cutting out precise feathers on the Cricut, but decided against that.

Here I am with the finished product.IMG_6048

Leave a comment